Head of Campus update – 1 December 2016

As I write this we are fully engaged in the excitement and “busy-ness” of end of year events and activities, particularly our very special Junior School Presentation Night.

With only a week of school remaining it is timely to reflect on what a wonderful year we have had and much of this will be shared and celebrated tonight. But as I look back on 2016 I feel an overwhelming sense of pride in the individual and collective achievements of our Junior School students. The depth and breadth of their talent, interests and passions is astounding and I never cease to be amazed at the enthusiasm, joy and curiosity our children bring to their learning each and every day.

Whilst we are finalising our programs for 2016, planning for 2017 continues in earnest which includes staffing, classes, roles and responsibilities. Our three Junior School coordinators for next year have been finalised. They are: Miss Alana Cary (Prep – Year 2), Mr Darren Lay (Years 3 and 4) and Miss Kate Flood (Years 5 and 6).

Our 2017 Junior School Captains have been appointed and we congratulate Ruby Hollingsworth and Anaise Weerappah to this position and feel confident they will be wonderful in this role next year.

We also say farewell to a number of staff who are leaving us at the end of the year – Mrs Cara Maxworthy (family leave), Mrs Michelle Cugley (family leave), Miss Annie Taylor, Miss Laura Moya and Miss Hayley Delaney. On behalf of the School community I sincerely thank them for their commitment and dedication to their respective roles. We are extremely grateful for what each of these people have brought to our Junior School during their time with us and wish them all the very best in their future endeavours.
I would also like to thank all our families for their positive involvement this year which has helped make this a memorable one for me, particularly stepping into the Head of School role earlier this year. I have enjoyed the opportunity to work with parents and families and have appreciated the support received.

Best wishes to everyone for an enjoyable, happy and safe time over the holiday period.

Mrs Melissa Graham
Head of Junior School